Back to All Events

Contra Costa Chamber Orchestra: Voices of the Past, Present, and Future

  • El Campanil Theatre Antioch, CA USA (map)

Call for Scores Winner: Winner TBD in 2019!
Felix Mendelssohn: Piano Concerto No. 1
with Britton Day, Piano
Jocelyn Hagen: Adagio
Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 8 “Unfinished”

Bay Area pianist Britton Day joins the CCCO for a performance of Felix Mendelssohn’s brilliant Piano Concerto No. 1. This underperformed gem bursts out of the gate with a barrage of virtuosic melodies, then melts into a calm, reflective slow movement before barreling on to a stunning finale.

This past year, the CCCO asked composers from around the country to submit original works for chamber orchestra. The winning composition will be revealed at the start of 2019 and receive performances at all of our May concerts.

American composer Jocelyn Hagen’s Adagio is an elegant, powerful work that requires the utmost focus and sensitivity from the performers.

The program closes with Franz Schubert’s dramatic, romantic Symphony No. 8 “Unfinished.”